top of page

High Performance Skateboarding Committee Announced

Skate Australia Announces new High Performance Skateboarding Committee

Skate Australia (SA) is proud to announce its inaugural High Performance Skateboarding Committee to lead us through the next Olympic cycle. The SA HP Committee takes the reins of Skate Australia’s high performance skateboarding program from the Skateboard 2020 Commission (S2020C). Set up in January 2017, the S2020C’s task was to prepare skaters, on Skate Australia’s behalf, for Skateboarding’s debut at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Moving forward the new HP Committee will be responsible for all facets of high performance and pathways program strategy and will provide oversight on activity.

Kim Crane, one of Australia’s most highly regarded and talented sport leaders with experience, knowledge and passion for Lifestyle and Action Sports, has been appointed as the inaugural committee Chairperson. Having served in executive leadership roles with the AIS, National Institute Network and Surfing Australia as National High Performance Director, Kim is fit for purpose for this role. A former Hockeyroo, Kim’s understanding, sector wide and personal experience in and of High Performance and Olympic sport over 30 years will be invaluable to Skate Australia’s HP Committee.

Under guidance of the S2020C, Kim completed a selection process for the subsequent four remaining HP Committee members (2 General HP members & 2 Skateboard Specific HP members) with appointments as follows:

  • General Member – Alison Campbell brings over 15 years experience in high performance sport to the committee, working across fourteen (14) summer and winter able bodied and Paralympic sporting programs. Ali’s unique and diverse HP experience and knowledge working at the AIS and in Sport, will add value and perspective to the deep sport specific experience and knowledge of the committee. Ali, who will head to Tokyo in a support role with Australia’s Paralympic Team is currently Paralympic Program Manager for Athletics Australia.

  • General Member – Matt Burgess is the founder of Evolve Sports Group, a sports strategy and legal practice. Matt has over 15 years experience in international sports and legal executive roles, predominantly in action and lifestyle sports including the role of Head of Integrity of the World Surf League. Matt’s legal background, understanding of professional sports and ability to identify risks will be a great asset to the committee.

  • Skateboarding Specific Member – Esther Godoy has been skateboarding for over 18 years. During her professional competitive career, Esther travelled extensively throughout the USA, Europe and Australasia. In 2012 Esther saw the need for change within the Australian Skateboarding landscape and founded Girls Skate Australia, the purpose being to progress the skill level of women’s skateboarding in Australia. These days Esther focuses on mentoring and has provided team management assistance to Skate Australia teams at Tokyo 2020 Olympic Qualifying Events.

  • Skateboarding Specific Member – Corbin Harris formerly a Professional Skateboard Athlete for Nike, Red Bull & Element has gained vast experience in Action Sports broadcasting, presenting for FOX Sports, ESPN, NBC and Red Bull as well as hosting international events such as Nitro World Games and X Games events. Corbin’s experience, both nationally and internationally, within the sports, entertainment and creative industries will bring a fresh dimension to the committee’s high performance outlook.

The immediate priorities of the HP Committee are to lead a stakeholder engagement process to design a High Performance Plan with a long term vision, mission and strategy, and to identify staff to manage and deliver the program.

Kim Crane – HP Committee Chair says “ It’s such an exciting time for Skateboarding here in Australia and it’s important we ride the momentum from what was a very successful Olympic Games for our entire Australian team, highlighted by Keegan Palmer’s historic gold medal performance. The HP Committee and Program staff look forward to engaging with athletes, coaches, performance support expertise, industry and wider skate community as we focus intent now to Paris 2024. I’m grateful for the ground breaking work of the S2020C and the AIS. It allows Skateboarding to step forward and formulate strategies and tactics that are tailored to fit the sport and culture, ensuring we build on the recent success on the world stage and find future talent with an eye on Brisbane 2032.”

Peter Conde – AIS CEO says “The AIS is incredibly proud of the achievements of Skateboard at the Tokyo Olympic Games with the gold medal achieved by Keegan Palmer a clear highlight. The leadership of the program to Tokyo has been oversighted by the Skateboard 2020 Commission. The time is right, as planned, for the leadership of the Skateboard High Performance Program to be handed over to the High Performance Committee of Skate Australia. The AIS looks forward to the next phase of the emergence of Skateboard at the Olympic Games under the leadership of Chair Kim Crane and her committee”.

Karen Doyle – Skate Australia President says: “This is an exciting time for our sport following the success of Australia’s skateboarding debut at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. I want to acknowledge the S2020C, Chair Anne Marie Harrison and members, Luke Pellegrini, Chris O’Brien and Donny Fraser for their work to ensure Australian skateboarders were represented in Tokyo. Their collective support as well as the support from the AIS, the wider National Institute Network and the AOC has been invaluable; we are ready for the next stage in Skateboarding’s high performance story.”


Karen Doyle, President, Skate Australia Inc – 0417 864 586

Kim Crane, Chair, Skate Australia HP Skateboarding Committee – 0408 197 672


bottom of page