top of page

Four Directors named to Skate Australia Board at 2023 AGM

Skate Australia is pleased to announce the appointment of three new members and one returning member to its Board of Directors.

Katrina Harnwell, Christopher Winn and Paul Stevens were elected at Saturday’s Annual General Meeting, along with Karen Doyle who was re-elected.

The elected Directors were deemed suitably qualified for the appointment with each of their skill sets assessed against the Skate Australia candidates criteria.

Skate Australia Chief Executive Officer Dr Caitlin Honey welcomed the experience and expertise of the new Directors.

“On behalf of Skate Australia I would like to welcome our newly elected Directors to our Board, and welcome back Karen Doyle” Dr Honey said.

“As an organisation, we look forward to continuing to develop our sport and community in line with our current Strategic Plan utilising the experience and expertise our board offers.

“Our new Board Directors bring valuable experience across a range of business activities, including finance, risk, commercial, integrity and governance, with World Skate executive member Karen Doyle re-elected to the Skate Australia board.”

Dr Honey also took the opportunity to thank outgoing Director, John Lane, who served on the Board for the last three years.

“Thank you to John for his service over the past three years. John has been involved in skating for over 60 years now, and with extensive involvement first as an athlete, and later as a coach and official before joining the Board, I look forward to seeing John continue his involvement at a club and association capacity.”

Under the leadership of Skate Australia Chair Dr Phil Hamdorf, Skate Australia now has seven Board Directors

  • Dr Phil Hamdorf (Chair)

  • Lyndelle Zuccolin (Director)

  • Tim McGrath (Director)

  • Jo Banning (Director)

  • Karen Doyle (Director)

  • Katrina Harnwell (Director)

  • Christopher Winn (Director)

  • Paul Stevens (Director)

Katrina Harnwell

Harnell is an experienced finance executive with extensive experience across a number of sporting codes and organisations including Australian Cycling and BMX Australia along with Ausrichter Pty Lty and a start-up. With a Bachelor of Economics, Masters of Tax and a certified Chartered Accountant, Harnwell possesses the qualifications to advise Skate Australia on financial and risk issues.

Christopher Winn

With experience in strategic marketing, brand, media and public relations, Winn offers expertise in a key area of Skate Australia’s strategic plan. Winn has Bachelor of Business Management, board experience with the Chamber Commerce and Destination Coffs Coast, coupled with personal experience with skateboarding, Winn is a sound fit in commercial and stakeholder management for the organisation.

Paul Stevens

An AICD Directors and Sports Governance course graduate, Stevens has extensive experience in governance and as Director with North Melbourne Football Club and Triathlon Victoria. Stevens holds an Advanced Diploma in Occupational Health and Safety along with a Graduate Certificate in Corruption and Integrity Management, a Graduate Certificate in Public Sector Management and a Graduate Certificate in Fraud Investigation. Stevens will assist the Skate Australia Board across Governance and Integrity matters.

Karen Doyle

Doyle has been reappointed to the Skate Australia Board. With a deep knowledge of skate sport disciplines and extensive experience within World Skate as the first World Skate Vice President and Commissioner for Oceania & World Skate Executive Board Member, Doyle has strong stakeholder relationships across the organisation’s community. Doyle will advise Skate Australia on World Skate Governance and Rules, Stakeholder Management.


bottom of page